Wed. Jun 19th, 2024

In coordination with the G7, Australia, and other partners, the United States is imposing new sanctions today on Russia for its illegal war in Ukraine. Today’s actions implement new commitments made at the G7 Leaders’ Summit and demonstrate our shared resolve to hold Russia accountable for its mounting atrocities in Ukraine.  These sanctions also reinforce the commitment the United States and its partners have made to taking action against those who aid the Kremlin in Ukraine by circumventing our sanctions and export control measures.

As part of these actions, the Department of State is imposing sanctions on or identifying as blocked property over 200 entities, individuals, vessels, and aircraft.  Today’s actions include designations of targets across Russia’s defense and related materiel, technology, and metals and mining sectors.  Our actions also include the designation of entities and individuals involved in expanding Russia’s future energy production and capacity. And we are continuing to target entities and individuals that have engaged in the systematic and unlawful deportation of Ukraine’s children and the theft and transportation of stolen grain from Ukraine.

Today’s actions also include designations of an international network of entities engaged in the procurement of components for the Russia-based entity responsible for the manufacture of the Orlan drone, which Russian forces are currently employing in their illegal war against Ukraine, and the Russia-installed puppet authorities in parts of Ukraine’s territory.

We are taking these steps in coordination with further sanctions being imposed by the Department of the Treasury today and additional export control measures announced by the Department of Commerce. The United States will continue to stand with Ukraine for as long as it takes.

# # #

The Department of the Treasury is imposing sanctions on over 120 entities and individuals, including dozens of third-country actors connected to sanctions evasion activities.  Treasury  also is issuing a new determination identifying the architecture, engineering, construction, manufacturing, and transportation sectors of the Russian Federation economy pursuant to Executive Order (E.O.) 14024 which authorizes sanctions to be imposed on any person determined to operate or to have operated in any of those sectors.  Additionally, Treasury is issuing a determination pursuant to E.O. 14071, prohibiting the exportation, re-exportation, sale, or supply, directly or indirectly, from the United States, or by a United States person, wherever located, of architecture services or engineering services to any person located in the Russian Federation, in alignment with G7 partners.  The Department of Commerce is issuing two rules to expand the territorial reach and categories covered by its U.S. export control measures and add 71 entities to the Entity List to prevent Russia from accessing goods key to the battlefield.  Commerce is also issuing joint alert with the Treasury Department’s Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN) to urge continued vigilance by U.S. financial institutions against potential Russian export control violations. For more information on today’s actions, please see the G7 Leaders’ Statement on Ukraine, the Department of State’s fact sheet, the Department of the Treasury’s press release, and the Department of Commerce press release.

Official news published at

originally published at Politics - JISIP NEWS