Sat. Jul 13th, 2024
Terrorist Designations of Nordic Resistance Movement and Three Leaders

The Department of State is today designating Nordic Resistance Movement (NRM) and three of its leaders as Specially Designated Global Terrorists.  The United States remains deeply concerned about the racially or ethnically motivated violent extremist threat worldwide and is committed to countering the transnational components of violent white supremacy.  Today’s actions are being taken following consultations with our European partners.

NRM is the largest neo-Nazi group in Sweden, with branches in Norway, Denmark, Iceland, and Finland, where it has been banned since 2020.  NRM’s violent activity is based on its openly racist, anti-immigrant, antisemitic, and anti-LGBTQI+ platform.  The group’s members and leaders have carried out violent attacks against political opponents, protestors, journalists, and other perceived adversaries.  NRM members have also taken steps to collect and prepare weapons and explosive materials, including on behalf of the group and in furtherance of its goals.  In addition, NRM has organized training in violent tactics, including hand-to-hand combat and knife fighting.

Today’s actions are being taken pursuant to Executive Order 13224, as amended.  For more information about today’s action, please see the Department of State’s fact sheet. 

Official news published at

originally published at Politics - JISIP NEWS