Sat. Jul 13th, 2024
United States Welcomes Lithuania’s Signing of the Artemis Accords

Lithuania became the 40th signatory to the Artemis Accords on May 15 at a ceremony held in Vilnius.  The Artemis Accords were established in 2020 by the United States and seven other countries to set out a practical set of principles to guide space exploration.  

Minister of Economy and Innovation Aušrinė Armonaitė signed the Accords for Lithuania with U.S. Ambassador Kara C. McDonald as witness.  NASA Deputy Administrator Pam Melroy welcomed Lithuania via a recorded message.  The U.S.-Lithuania relationship has never been stronger.  From collaboration in security and defense, to partnerships in trade and investment, the relationship between our two countries continues to flourish across a wide range of areas. We extend that partnership into outer space, through the Artemis Accords. 

Lithuania joins 39 other nations – Angola, Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Colombia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Poland, the Republic of Korea, Romania, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the United States, and Uruguay – in affirming the Accords’ principles for sustainable civil space activity.  The Department of State and NASA lead the United States’ outreach and implementation of the Accords.  

Official news published at

originally published at Politics - JISIP NEWS